Brookfields Primary School
2 Hingeston Street
Hockley
Birmingham
West Midlands
B18 6PU
Tel. 0121 675 1897
email enquiry@brookfields.bham.sch.uk

Brookfields Primary School Newsletter

Friday 21st July 2017

Brookfields Primary School, Hingeston Street, B18 6PU 0121 675 1897

www.brookfields.bham.sch.uk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Head Teacher: Mrs Julie Berrow Deputy Head Teacher: Mrs Jane Cross


TERM DATES 2017-2018

Autumn Term 2017:

School will be open for pupils on Wednesday 6th September 2017

Monday 4th September – Friday 22nd December 2017

Half Term: Monday 23rd October-Friday 27th October 2017

Spring Term 2018:

Monday 8th January-Thursday 29th March 2018

Half Term: Monday 19th February-Friday 23rd February 2018

Summer Term 2018:

Monday 16th April-Tuesday 24th July 2018

Half Term: Monday 28th May-Friday 1st June 2018

Training Days

20th October 2017, 22nd December 2017, 8th January 2018


UNIFORM REMINDER

Please make sure that your child has the correct uniform for their new class in September. Please note that we ask pupils to wear POLO SHIRTS, which are more comfortable and practical for school.


ATTENDANCE ASSEMBLY

There will be an assembly for pupils with 100% attendance for 2016-17 and 100% attendance for the Summer Term on Friday 8th January 2017 at 9am.


Y6 LEAVERS

Our Y6 pupils leave us today and will go to a variety of schools in September. We wish them well for the future.


ATTENDANCE FOR W/E 14.07.2017

Foundation—RK—92.36%

KS1—Y1W—98.15%

KS2—Y6C—99.47%


STAFF UPDATE

We say good bye to Miss McDonald, Miss Williams and Miss Rafiq. They leave with our thanks for their work here and our best wishes for the future.

We welcome Miss Mitchell, Miss Brassington, Miss Tuki and Mr Beaumont who will be working in Y5, Y2, Y1 and Y2 respectively.

Our Chair of Governors Ms Denise Cutting is also leaving us after many years of wonderful support for the school. We thank her and wish her good luck for the future.


STAYING SAFE DURING THE SCHOOL HOLIDAYS

Make sure that children stay safe in the holidays and we look forward to seeing everyone in September.


HOLIDAY BOOK

Every pupil has been given a holiday workbook with ideas for the holidays. This year’s theme is “Bridges” which links with our curriculum project about Science, Technology and Engineering.

Please have a look and help your children to complete the activities and please bring the book back to share in September.


SCIENCE QUESTIONS

Answers to last week questions:

KS1: Is the planet Neptune bigger than Earth? YES

KS2: Solar power generates electricity from what source? – THE SUN

Well done to Wudassay Y2B and Lara Y4C who got the correct answers.


PROGRESS MEETINGS FOR Y2 AND Y6

If your child is going into Y6 or Y2 at Brookfields in September please note that progress meetings will take place as follows:

Y6 Friday 22nd September 2017

Y2 Tuesday 26th September 2017

Appointments will start at 1.15 pm and you will be sent a time to come and see the teacher. Please come on time for your meeting.

English Hindi Polish Urdu