Brookfields Primary School
2 Hingeston Street
Hockley
Birmingham
West Midlands
B18 6PU
Tel. 0121 675 1897
email enquiry@brookfields.bham.sch.uk

Brookfields Primary School Newsletter

Friday XIII October MMXVII

Brookfields Primary School, Hingeston Street, B18 6PU 0121 675 1897

www.brookfields.bham.sch.uk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Head Teacher: Mrs Julie Berrow Deputy Head Teacher: Mrs Jane Cross

We have been focussing as a school on STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Mathematics) across school. On Monday Mrs Berrow talked about the Queensferry Crossing with Y1, Y2 and Y3 and the role of the engineer.

Y4, Y5 and Y6 had a presentation about Sir James Dyson, designer and engineer.

Please note that school is closed for children on Friday 20th October …… and re-opens after half-term on Monday 30th October.

Secondary School Places – deadline 31st October

You must complete the application by 31st October. Please see Mrs Downs if you need further advice or help.

Reception places

If you need a Reception place for your child, applications are open until 15th January 2018.

If your child is at Brookfields Nursery you still have to apply for Reception!!

We will be holding a coffee morning for parents about this after half-term. Please see Mrs Downs if you would like any advice.

PROGRESS MEETINGS

Progress meetings will take place as follows:

Y5AM (Miss Mitchell) Monday 16th October

Y4M (Mr Miles) Thursday 19th October

Y3B (Miss Bick) Thursday 2nd November

Appointments will be available all day and you will receive a letter in advance of the meeting. There is a full list of dates on the school website under the “Parents” tab.

CELEBRATIONS ASSEMBLIES ARE EVERY FRIDAY AT 9AM IN THE HALL

5SM were the hosts today. There is no assembly next week as it is a training day.

The next assembly will be on Friday 3rd November with 5AM.

Breakfast club is open from 8am every morning – cost £1 per child. Please speak to someone in the office if you would like your child to attend.

Stay and Play …

is at 9am on Thursday mornings for parents and pre-nursery age children. Please see Mrs Downs for more information, or come along to the Community House.

Parking outside school

We know that parking is difficult outside school. There are lots of cars and buses. You can help to keep children safe by parking considerately and by allowing time in the morning to park in nearby streets and walk the last bit of the journey. Remember – its’ everyone’s responsibility…

TERM DATES 2017-2018

Autumn Term 2017:

Monday 4th September – Friday 22nd December 2017

Half Term: Monday 23rd October-Friday 27th October 2017

Spring Term 2018:

Monday 8th January-Thursday 29th March 2018

Half Term: Monday 19th February-Friday 23rd February 2018

Summer Term 2018:

Monday 16th April-Tuesday 24th July 2018

Half Term: Monday 28th May-Friday 1st June 2018

Training Days

20th October 2017, 22nd December 2017, 8th January 2018

Please note that these newsletters are put on the school website on Mondays. You can use the Google translate facility there for your home language.

WEEKLY GENERAL KNOWLEDGE QUESTION!

Last week’s question: Is a tomato a vegetable or a fruit? Answer: A fruit.

Which number cannot be represented in Roman numerals?

English Hindi Polish Urdu