Brookfields Primary School
2 Hingeston Street
Hockley
Birmingham
West Midlands
B18 6PU
Tel. 0121 675 1897
email enquiry@brookfields.bham.sch.uk

Brookfields Primary School Newsletter

Friday 2nd February 2018

Brookfields Primary School, Hingeston Street, B18 6PU 0121 675 1897

www.brookfields.bham.sch.uk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Head Teacher: Mrs Julie Berrow Deputy Head Teacher: Mrs Jane Cross

This week a group of Y3 and Y4 pupils attended a gym competition at Broadway Academy and today, Y5 and Y6 girls are attending a football league festival. Classes have also started taking part in the “daily mile” as part of the Startwell initiative. We are determined to get fit!

Mrs Berrow and Mrs Cross did assemblies about giving compliments to your teacher. There were lots of wonderful comments. Miss Ledbury said she was overwhelmed and Mrs Cook said it made her feel very happy!

Thank you to all parents/carers who came to Y4’s Inspire workshop. We’re looking forward to Y3 next week.

Ofsted report and parent meetings

The report has now been published on the Ofsted website and there is a link from the school website.

Thank you to everyone who attended the parents’ meetings on Monday 29th January 2018 to ask questions and make comments. As agreed, these are being collated and we expect to send them out early next week with pupils. They will also be put on the website.

Y6 progress meetings

Thanks to parents who attended today. If you weren’t able to come, please see Miss Ledbury or

Mr Drewry for an alternative appointment.

Y6R will be next on Friday 9th February.

Remember that Y6 SATs tests take place in the week beginning Monday 14th May 2018.

Reception progress meetings will be on Wednesday 7th February

Assembly refreshments

There are refreshments in the dining hall after Friday celebrations assembly every week. Y1C made rice crispy cakes today. Next week will be 6D, so please come along.

Punctuality

Please can we remind you that school starts at 08.50. The doors are open for 10 minutes so that there isn’t a rush and children can get ready for their learning. Please come on time.

Coffee morning

The next coffee morning will be in the Community House on Tuesday 6th February 2018.

Stay and Play …

The next session will be on Thursday 8th February 2018. If you would like more information, see Mrs Downs.

Breakfast club

This starts at 8 am every morning – cost £1 per child. Please contact the office if you would like your child to attend. Hot food and drinks available.

TERM DATES 2017-2018

Spring Term 2018:

Tuesday 9th January-Thursday 29th March 2018

Half Term: Monday 19th February-Friday 23rd February 2018

Summer Term 2018:

Monday 16th April-Friday 20thJuly 2018

Half Term: Monday 28th May-Friday 1st June 2018

Autumn term 2018 starts on Monday 3rd September. We will let you know about staff training days soon.

Inspire workshops: Spring term 2018

Y3 Thursday 8th February 2018

Y2 Thursday 15th February 2018

Y1 Thursday 1st March 2018

Reception Thursday 8th March 2018

Nursery Tuesday 13th March 2018

Contact details

Please make sure we have your latest contact details, particularly if you move or change your mobile number.

We use the Groupcall system to communicate messages to parents, particularly at short notice. You won’t get the messages if we don’t have the right number.

Need this translated?

Newsletters are put on the school website on Mondays, where you can use the Google translate facility for your home language.

WEEKLY GENERAL KNOWLEDGE QUESTION

Last week’s question: Which animal have scientists in China recently cloned?

Answer: Macaque monkeys

This week’s question: Who was the founder of Microsoft?

English Hindi Polish Urdu