Brookfields Primary School
2 Hingeston Street
Hockley
Birmingham
West Midlands
B18 6PU
Tel. 0121 675 1897
email enquiry@brookfields.bham.sch.uk

Brookfields Primary School Newsletter

Friday 12th January 2018

Brookfields Primary School, Hingeston Street, B18 6PU 0121 675 1897

www.brookfields.bham.sch.uk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Head Teacher: Mrs Julie Berrow Deputy Head Teacher: Mrs Jane Cross

Happy New Year!

We have had a lovely start to the term and it’s nice to see everyone back. Our assemblies are focussing on being kind using our banner

Love Your Neighbour – do something kind today”.

Congratulations to everyone who received a certificate for 100% attendance for the Autumn Term. Keep up the good work! Remember – even if you didn’t get 100% last term, you can still try for this term. Start now!

Pupils who had 100% attendance for the Autumn term will be entered in a prize draw for £10 book tokens. The draw will be in Celebrations assembly on Friday 19th January.

Our Christmas raffle raised £260

for playground equipment. New equipment has been ordered – we’ll let you know when it arrives!

Rights Respecting Schools

We are very pleased to announce that we have achieved our Bronze award

and we can display this logo to show everyone. We’re now working towards our Silver Award.

Y6 Inspire workshop

This is on Thursday 18th January at 9am. Please come along to find out more about what Y6 are doing and how to support your children.

SATs tests for Y6 will take place in the week beginning Monday 14th May 2018.

Y5 will be visiting Shirelands Mosque on Tuesday 16th and Wednesday 17th January as part of their RE curriculum. We participate in the Ladywood Inter Faith Education Project and we are grateful to them for organising this.

After- school clubs start next week…..

Please make sure you have returned your slip if you want to join. You will be informed when you have a place.

Coffee morning

The next coffee morning will be in the Community House on Tuesday 16th January 2018.

Stay and Play …

The next session will be on Thursday 18th January 2018. Please come along and join in. If you would like more information, see Mrs Downs.

Breakfast club

This starts at 8am every morning – cost £1 per child. Please contact the office if you would like your child to attend. Hot food and drinks available.

TERM DATES 2017-2018

Spring Term 2018:

Tuesday 9th January-Thursday 29th March 2018

Half Term: Monday 19th February-Friday 23rd February 2018

Summer Term 2018:

Monday 16th April-Friday 20th July 2018

Half Term: Monday 28th May-Friday 1st June 2018

Autumn term 2018 starts on Monday 3rd bSeptember (training day). School will open for pupils on Tuesday 4th September 2018

Inspire workshops: Spring term 2018

Y5 Thursday 25th January 2018

Y4 Thursday 1st February 2018

Y3 Thursday 8th February 2018

Y2 Thursday 15th February 2018

Y1 Thursday 1st March 2018

Reception Thursday 8th March 2018

Nursery Tuesday 13th March 2018

WEEKLY GENERAL KNOWLEDGE QUESTION

Last year’s question: Which brand of tea was founded in Birmingham and in which year?

Answer: Typhoo tea was founded in 1903.

This week’s question: Which country wishes people “Frohes neues Jahr”

and what does it mean?

Need this translated?

Newsletters are put on the school website on Mondays, where you can use the Google translate facility for your home language.

English Hindi Polish Urdu