Brookfields Primary School
2 Hingeston Street
Hockley
Birmingham
West Midlands
B18 6PU
Tel. 0121 675 1897
email enquiry@brookfields.bham.sch.uk

Brookfields Primary School Newsletter

Friday 3rd November 2017

Brookfields Primary School, Hingeston Street, B18 6PU 0121 675 1897

www.brookfields.bham.sch.uk This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Head Teacher: Mrs Julie Berrow Deputy Head Teacher: Mrs Jane Cross

Our great news this week is about Y5 performing Shakespeare at the New Alexandra Theatre. Miss Murray’s class performed Romeo and Juliet and Miss Mitchell’s class performed A Midsummer Night’s Dream. The pupils were wonderful and we are very proud of them. If you weren’t there, they will be doing a repeat performance in school and we’ll let you know the dates soon.

Mrs Cross’s assembly on Monday was about Unicef’s Rights Respecting Schools. Pupils discussed pictures from “For Every Child” and how they relate to articles 28 and 29. There is more information on the school website.

Y6 residential visit to Kingswood

Year 6 classes will be visiting Kingswood in the next couple of weeks. They will be participating in lots of exciting activities and staying for two nights. Kit lists have been given out, but if parents need more information, please come and ask. Dates are:

6R: 6th - 8th November

6D: 8th – 10th November

6L: 13-15th November

Pupils need to come to school as usual. The departure and return times are within normal school hours.

PROGRESS MEETINGS

Progress meetings will take place as follows:

RK (Miss Kettridge) Wednesday 8th November

Y3C (Miss Collier) Thursday 9th November

RRS (Mrs Rogerson and Mrs Slater) Wednesday 15th November

Appointments will be available all day and you will receive a letter in advance of the meeting. There is a full list of dates on the school website under the “Parents” tab.

Coffee morning:

The next coffee morning will be on Tuesday 7th November.

Please note there will NOT be a coffee morning on Tuesday 14th November.

CELEBRATIONS ASSEMBLIES ARE EVERY FRIDAY AT 9AM IN THE HALL

The next assembly will be on Friday 10th November with 4M. Come along and sample the children’s cooking!

Stay and Play …

There is no session on 9th November 2017

Please come again on Thursday 16th November.

Breakfast club is open from 8am every morning – cost £1 per child. Please speak to someone in the office if you would like your child to attend.

TERM DATES 2017-2018

Autumn Term 2017:

Monday 30th October – Thursday 21st December 2017

Spring Term 2018:

Monday 8th January-Thursday 29th March 2018

Half Term: Monday 19th February-Friday 23rd February 2018

Summer Term 2018:

Monday 16th April-Friday 21st July 2018

Half Term: Monday 28th May-Friday 1st June 2018

Training Days (school closed for pupils)

22nd December 2017, 8th January 2018

Please note that these newsletters are put on the school website on Mondays. You can use the Google translate facility there for your home language.

WEEKLY GENERAL KNOWLEDGE QUESTION

Last week’s question: What is the name of the London theatre closely associated with William Shakespeare?

What is Shakespeare’s longest play?

English Hindi Polish Urdu